• Sweet Cobra - Praise LP


  • $8.00  $14.00

  • Click here to be notified by email when Sweet Cobra - Praise LP becomes available.

  • Description

    The sonic assault of Sweet Cobra has been described by critics as everything from "hypnotic, riff–driven mayhem" to "sludgy groove with hardcore intensity." Still, that doesn't do their unmistakably original sound justice. When Jason Gagovski (Suicide Note) and Botchy Vasquez (The Killer, and Challenger) formed Sweet Cobra in 2002, each brought a penchant for '70s inspired groove rock and the ghosts of their hardcore pasts. The formation of Sweet Cobra allowed Vasquez to come from behind the drumkit to be vocalist/bass player for the first time. Robert Lanham joined on guitar, adding raw, instinctive creativity that soon converged with guitarist Mat Arluck's meticulous pummeling to form the backbone of the group's sound. Sweet Cobra quickly coalesced into something at once relentlessly crushing and trance–inducing, a wave of crashes and builds that dives into dark trenches before slowly crawling up for air.

    Their debut album PRAISE, released by Seventh Rule Recordings in late 2003. Influences from bands such as Black Flag, His Hero Is Gone, and Neurosis collide with pieces of rock–riffing staples like early era Helmet and High on Fire. While connections could be drawn, music magazines and websites around the country were unanimously impressed by PRAISE's undeniably peerless quality. It established Sweet Cobra as a band that defied definition and appealed to fans of bone–shattering hardcore, ripping guitar metal, and rhythmic stoner rock alike.

    Red Vinyl, does not include Poster insert.

Share this product